EU Prize for Women Innovators 2017

Date: 09/03/2017

The four winners of the 2017 EU Prize for Women Innovators were announced at a ceremony in the European Parliament in Brussels on 8 March, International Women's Day.

The winners are:

1st Prize (€100,000): Michela Magas, of Croatian/British nationality, founder of Stromatolite, Design Innovation Labs in Sweden and UK, building a new generation of incubation and creative technology toolkits for innovation. [ Watch video]

2nd Prize (€50,000): Petra Wadström from Sweden, founder of Solvatten, which produces a portable water purifier and water heater that are powered by solar energy. [ Watch video]

3rd Prize (€30,000): Claudia Gärtner from Germany, founder of microfluidic ChipShop, which provides “lab-on-a-chip” systems as miniaturized solutions for better diagnostics. [ Watch video]

Rising Innovator 2017 (€20,000): Kristina Tsvetanova from Bulgaria, who is CEO and co-founder of the Austrian company, BLITAB Technology, has produced the first tablet for blind users, called BLITAB. [ Watch video]

The winners received their prizes from Carlos Moedas, European Commissioner for Research, Science and Innovation, and Mairead McGuinness, Vice-President of the European Parliament.

More information : 

Press Release

Watch the ceremony

All our news